Digital book and video of an art project ‘Along/between/across: Sand, Grass, Wind, Brick, Studio’ centred around the exploration and artistic expression of Tiree’s natural environment. Researched during a two-week stay on Tiree in summer 2018 by Sabine Kussmaul of the University of Chester.
Memoirs of Alistair MacNeill, Hynish, ‘They were our Vital Sparks’ which recall his fascination with the coal puffers that visited Hynish to off-load coal and other goods during the 1950s. The puffers also took away bundles of kelp for processing on the mainland.
Scottish Land Court document, 1913, drawn up between the Duke of Argyll and Duncan MacDonald, Lower Caoles, regulating the use of storm-cast seaweed in Coales. Other names mentioned: Alexander MacLean (Snr), Caoles; Hugh MacLean, Caoles; John MacFadyen, Caoles; Hector MacDonald, Caoles; Lachlan MacLean, Caoles; Alexander MacLean (Jnr), Caoles; Hugh MacDiarmid (Factor), Island House; John Disselduff (Sheriff-Clerk Oban).
Scottish Land Court document, 1913, drawn up between the Duke of Argyll and Alexander Cameron, Miodar, Caoles, regulating the use of storm-cast seaweed in Coales. Other names mentioned: Isabella MacArthur, Harbour; Alexander MacArthur, Harbour; Alexander MacLean (Snr); Hugh MacLean; John MacFadyen; Hector MacDonald; Lachlan MacLean; Alexander MacLean (Jnr); Hugh MacDiarmid (Factor), Island House; John Disselduff (Sheriff-Clerk Oban).
Sea ball found on Balephetrish beach by Ulrike Rawson, Balephetrish. Sea balls are formed when marram grass and other natural marine fibres are rolled into a tight ball by wave action. Today, they often form around sea rubbish like discarded fishing line fragments.
Local news including forthcoming agricultural show; invasive seaweed on boats; school news and awards; cut in housing budget for Argyll & Bute; Tiree Experience bus tours; A&B local plans published; an `Interview with God`; high fuel prices; bumblebees.
Photograph of Scarinish Harbour and pier building ca 1930
Sepia photograph from a postcard of Scarinish Harbour around 1930, showing the ship the Mary Stewart on the left and a smaller ship tied up loading kelp from horse-drawn carts. The harbour building/office/store, now gone, is on the right.